How to guide for Members and Subscribers

Logging in

You need to log into your Friends account if you want to access Members Only pages on the Friends website, or if you want to perform self-service functions such as changing your email preferences or paying an invoice.

New members are automatically logged in after supplying their email address when they apply for membership, register for an event, or make a donation.

In the log in fields, you enter your Friends credentials – your email and password – then click the Login button. If you do not remember your password, click the Forgot password link next to the Login button. On the page that appears, you can enter your email address to receive a reset password link via email.

After you log in, a message will appear with links in the bottom right corner if you have unpaid invoices or incomplete registrations, or are lapsed, overdue, or within a week of your renewal date.


Changing your password

Passwords are automatically generated and emailed to you when join the Friends member site (after 1Jan2019), register for an event, or make a donation.

If you joined the Friends as a member before 1Jan2019, we have used the code printed on your membership card as your password.

Passwords can also be set manually by the Friends website administrator.

You can change your password by clicking the Change password link that appears below or beside the link to your profile after you log into the Friends website.


On the screen that appears, you enter your current password, then the new password, and the new password again for confirmation.

Password requirements

·         Minimum of 7 characters

·         Maximum of 50 characters

·         Any combination of letters, numbers and characters (except spaces)

The Friends website passwords are case sensitive.

Click to return to top.

Updating your profile

Information on the My profile page is only visible to the person who is loged in, and the Friends website administrators (except for passwords).

Once you are logged into your Friends account, a link will appear to access your member profile (your name).

Click on your name to open the My profile screen.

On the My profile screen that appears, click the Edit profile button to update your Membership details.

After you've made your changes, click the Save button to save them.

Click to return to top.


Renewing your membership

There are two ways you can renew your membership.

A membership renewal notice and/or invoice will be automatically emailed to you a certain number of days before your membership renewal date. Within the renewal notice, you can click the link to log into your Friends account.

Within the invoice, you can click the View invoice online link to view and pay the invoice online without logging in.


You can also renew your membership from your member profile on the Friends website.

To renew your membership from your member profile, click the Renew button on your Profile page.


If you are limited to renewing only one period ahead or only within a certain number of days or months before the membership expires, a notice informing you of the next possible renewal date may appear in place of the Renew button


After you click the Renew button, you can review and update your membership details, then click the Update and next button. Then, you click the Confirm button to confirm the renewal request. You will be taken to the Invoices and payments page where you can pay for the invoice for the renewal.

Until the payment is made, a Balance due notification will be shown on the notification bar.


and a message will be displayed on your member profile:

Click to return to top.

Viewing invoices and making payments

If you have any unpaid invoices, a message will appear after you log into the Friends website in the bottom right corner.

To view or pay the outstanding invoice, click the link. You will be taken to the Invoices and payment tab on your member profile, where you can view and pay invoices, and view past payments. You can also access this screen by displaying your member profile then clicking the Invoices and payments link.

Invoices with open balances (unpaid or partially paid) will be shown at the top of the screen.

To pay one or more outstanding invoices, click the checkbox beside the invoice(s) you want to pay, then click the Pay online button. You will be taken to an online payment screen where you can enter your credit card details.

You may also receive invoices via email. If you click the View invoice online link within the emailed invoice, can view and pay the invoice online without logging in.

Click to return to top.

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software